The Nerdsletter Issue #98 – A week of Firsts

I am still Warframing this week. Just a warning.

GAMING

So, let’s start with the non warframe stuff. I played more Lethal Company, of course. My wife has been showing me stuff from the Update 50 Beta that is out, and its wild. My wife and I also got back to FF14 a bit to do the new event that just started this week, the FF16 collab event. YoshiP had to ask Yoshida if the collab was ok, and he said yes. If you know you know.

Thats about it on the non warframe front outside of my usual MTGA and Hearthstone Battleground nonsense. Oh, and in Old World we are back to fighting Rome. Fucking Rome.

Now on to Warframe!

First, I want to discuss my beginnings 4 years ago (give or take). I started Warframe then with 1 main goal: to finish the supposedly great quest The Second Dream. Which took me about 45 hours to get thru, and yea it was worth the hype at the time. I then played a ton but got annoyed a bit with the grind at times and ended up getting distracted by something and leaving the game till now. I will say that I did keep logging in, every 6 months or when there were events, just to keep my account active and in the clan I am in (the official CohhCarnage clan). Doing these logins meant I got a few free frames and things, such as Styanax. I hadn’t actually played though. And why did I come back? Because of my friend Christian, asking on twitter about 2 weeks ago a simple question: is Warframe worth playing in 2024.

I was curious before answering as I had fond memories of Warframe. So, I looked it up and got interested. I dove back in while telling him yes.

Since coming back, I have achieved a number of firsts thanks to the game making certain grinds easier. I got my first Amp from the Quills (this is a possible spoiler do not look this up if you have not played the game and got past the Second Dream). I killed an Eidolon on the Plains. I got a Railjack now. I unlocked Duviri. I built a Necramech. I killed my first Kuva Lich and in doing so got a weapon that is both powerful (A Kuva Kohm) and had the maximum elemental bonus possible (Heat, 60%). The Cohh Clan has been very kind as well, helping me some of the more annoying grinds by just giving me their extra crap.

I also hit Mastery Rank 14. I have been trying new frames (Styanax is a ton of fun honestly, might be a new main in addition to Nezha, Wukong, and Hydroid, once I get their Intrepid Stand augment). I updated and fixed up my giant spreadsheet of doom. And in general, I am just having fun. Currently working on getting the Helmith segment for my ship as well as gettin thru the New War and getting my standing upgraded with the various factions.

Warframe has been scratching an itch for me. I am just having a good time.

FINAL WORD AND ARTIST? OF THE WEEK

Another slow week for me overall, but it’s been a nice one for a change. Grinding with my brain turned off in Warframe is fun, spending time with my wife is great, and work has been treating me well.

I am in a good mood, it’s nice! Even if I got a charlie horse in BOTH LEGS on Tuesday morning. Jesus christ, right leg at 1am, left leg at 3am. Why?!

Ko Fi Donation Goal for my Move

Leave a comment