Warhammer Youtube: Helpful Channels!

While it seems that my interest in Warhammer and getting into the hobby is sudden, its honestly not. Back when the Pandemic first hit in 2020, I started working from home. This gave me time to really start consuming Youtube content, listening to it as if it was a podcast.

And at some point early on in 2020 I decided to look into Warhammer battle reports. As I previously said I was always fascinated by Warhammer so I was curious if there was a Warhammer presence on Youtube.

I was blown away but the sheer wealth of it. And over time, from then till now, I have slowly found the channels I enjoy for different things, and digging deeper now has uncovered quite a few I had not been aware of before. I am going to break the channels down into 2 groups: Battle Report based channels, and Hobby driven channels (painting, building, ect)

Lets start with the smaller list, which are the Hobby channels!

The 1st Hobby Channel is Tabletop Minions.

So this is channel run by “Uncle Atom” and I ran across it when looking for tips on beginner painting tech. What I found was a kind, funny, older gent who was no nonsense and honest. That video I linked is something I have saved just to remind myself that painting, while complex, can be fairly straightforward to start with. I have since watched many of his videos just to learn more about painting tricks, other games, and so on. Really good stuff!

The 2nd Hobby Channel is Midwinter Minis.

Now this british gent is simply a treat to watch. Again, I found him when looking for painting tips, but I find his videos in general just fun to watch. He is more advanced then what I would want generally, but its still full of helpful stuff and generally neat looks at the hobby. He does a lot of speed painting as well, which is neat.

The 3rd Hobby Channel is the official Warhammer one.

I don’t really need to explain this one, do I? Their in depth painting guides are simple to understand, and that is something I need. Granted, its an official channel so they are biased on what products and techniques they use but its still good stuff.

Now lets move on to the Battle Report group! These are the ones who really got me interested in the game!

The 1st Battle Report Channel is Play On Tabletop.

First of all the editing and production quality is insane. Just absolutely insane. The personalities of all the players are great as well, and I am especially a fan of Space Marine Steve and Tau Nick (the two in the video above). They focus mostly on 40k with a dash of Kill Team now, and I love it. This is the channel that I encountered first when searching for Warhammer 40k stuff in 2020, and its what started me on this path. I blame you Nick. I BLAME YOU!

The 2nd Battle Report Channel is Tabletop Titans.

Where Play On Tabletop is highly edited and condesned battle reports, Tabletop Titans are actually live streamed from a studio. What attracted me here are the questions that get asked during the matches. People will ask for list advice, make silly comments, rules help, and more. I have learned a ton by watching the matches after the fact. They are streamed live on YouTube and then archived, and they are great. They are LONG videos though, as its not edited down. But the commentary from the players, the camera work, and the information I get from the game is just great.

Finally, we have the 3rd Battle Report channel and thats Seasons of War.

Right so this one I just encountered last week. I was mostly looking for stuff about Age of Sigmar due to the news of a 3rd edition coming. Yes, I am planning down the road to collect an Age of Sigmar force (and I do mean DOWN THE ROAD) but I was curious about the game. There are not many Battle Report channels for it that I could find, and this one caught me off guard. The videos here are sort of a blend between Play On and Tabletop Titans. You have the two players discussing tactics with the board between them, and their a top down view shows them taking their turns at a boosted speed. Its quite fun to watch, and I am getting an idea of just how AoS works from watching them.

I hope this helps some of you find channels to assist with your hobby progress and interest! If nothing else, every one of these creatives are awesome and welcoming from what I can see. There are tons more out there as well, these are just my personal favorites.

Leave a comment