The Nerdsletter Issue #99 – Whispers…. in the Walls

I love leaks. They are the absolute best thing. I love when I have to have heavy duty blowers sitting on my carpet blasting air and making noise. It’s fantastic. Absolutely great, the best thing ever. They drown out the whispers in the walls you see.

Lets get into this week.

GAMING

We of course had more Lethal Company this week, mostly over the weekend. It’s fun every time, but just remember: You gotta face your death head on, for GLORY!

Now more Warframe stuff. The big thing is that I finally caught up for the first time playing it with the main story quest line, having now finished Whispers in the Walls and all I can say is WHAT IN THE HELL GAME. If I have any real complaints about Warframe, it’s the following: The game does a poor job explaining fucking anything mechanically, relaying instead on players to create wikis and videos to go over how things work, and that the story is amazing but poorly spread out.

I want to touch specifically on that story issue, in fact. You see, when you start the game you go through a small quest called Awakening, where you choose your first warframe, meet an antagonist named Vor, and get some background. Then you do Vor’s Prize and deal with said antagonist. And then?

Nothing. You are left adrift in space, your only instructions found either vaguely listed in your Quest Codex (things like to access Quest A you must reach Jupiter) or found on Junctions. If you ask players, myself included, we will tell you to focus on reaching and completing the Second Dream. Why?

Because that is actually when the story of Warframe, YOUR story, really starts. And it will take an average casual player around 50 hours to reach it. 50 HOURS. 50 hours of basically grinding gameplay, repeating mission types and pushing forward through the Star Chart. 50 hours doing a few small story quests like The New Strange and Natah. 50 fucking hours of nothing.

But if you can manage it, as I did 4 years ago, you are rewarded with ACTUAL STORY. And my god is it good. And then…you hit nothing again. Your next goal becomes The New War, which I finished this past Saturday. To get there though you have to finish The War Within, a large chunk of the Star Chart, The Sacrifice, and then grind out both a Railjack (completing the quest chain for it) AND a Necramech (which is partially locked behind reputation that you unlock by doing The Heart of Deimos). Both of those take time. I did not start The New War until I had hit 160 hours played on Steam. It was a GRIND. A hard fucking grind.

And it was goddamn worth it. The New War (and the War Within actually) are unique in Warframe in that they LOCK YOU INTO THEM once you start. And I mean total lock in. You cannot quit, you cannot stop the chain. Once you start it, the game will checkpoint your progress but your account is locked into finishing them so you better be fucking ready to handle them.

The War Within, I remember (as I did it 4 years ago) pissed me off during its last fight. And New War? New War did similar, mechanically. Because I play Warframe in a specific way: Loud and Aggressive. New War, however, doesnt allow that. At various points you are stuck into a specific loadout and a specific play style and the game will punish you if you do not play it the way it wants you to play, which up to this point has NOT been the way Warframe has worked. Up until the New War, you could play your way. Want to go sneaky? Do it. Want to go loud, do it!

But not New War. Oh no, it makes you play the way the devs WANT you to play, and deviating from this will result in suffering. Further still, it forces specific weapon types on you for bosses, which if you are like me, might not be fun. I hate Bows, for example, and New War FORCES you to use a bow for a large chunk of it. Its a nice bow, sure, but I suck with that style of weapon and here I am, trapped in a quest chain where I have to learn on the fly how to do this.

I went in with my Railjack upgraded (I had a full Crew, for instance) as well as my Necramech a bit leveled up with some mods, and that was absolutely needed. Further still, I went in knowing it was going to take 5+ hours. My run through New War took 7 hours total start to finish, with a break in between. If you are getting ready for New War I suggest you get ANY upgraded Amp, make sure you have a full 3 man crew and some upgraded stuff for your Railjack, and have some levels on your Necramech. Your actual Warframe loadout / weapons will not be a huge deal honestly.

The story of New War is 100% worth going for, if you can.

After I finished New War, I had 2 story quests left to go to get caught up: Angels of Zariman and The Whispers in the Walls, which I completed on Sunday. Those stories were also amazing, and I HATE that they are locked so deep into the game. One of my biggest pet peeves in any form of media is the idea of “it gets better”. The concept where you have to sit through terrible or boring shit to get to the good parts. Warframe sadly is 100% that type of thing, where you have to sit and work and PROVE that you have the skills (I guess) or the patience to reach the chewy center that is the story.

Anyway, after all that I then went through and unlocked the final nodes on the Star Chart to access the Steel Path (Warframe’s Hard Mode / NG+) and Arbitrations (a sort of special alert with good rewards, and a stepping stone to harder content). I found I COULD do Arbitrations with my loadouts, but Steel Path is beyond me, my damage is just not enough to handle it without others. Honestly though, I dont NEED to do Steel path for really anything important. Its a goal, sure, but I have frames to grind, relics to open, standing to increase. The Duviri Circuit (both normal and Steel Path versions) to run and collect phat rewards from. I have tons of stuff to work on outside of the one little “bragging rights” hard mode that exists. I did manage to complete the very first Steel path node with some changes though, and using Revenant Prime (all praise Mirror Skin) so I know I CAN do it. But my god they are not kidding when they say its hard.

Regardless, I am having a blast and looking forward to the next expansion to Warframe, which apparently is called “Warframe 1999” and now that I am through The Whispers in the Walls I understand what this means. And it is both batshit crazy and amazing.

FINAL WORD OF THE WEEK

Another slow week for me outside of issues…. but you know what, that is life. Things are gonna happen. Had a doctors visit on Thursday (boo) so I can’t wait to get yelled at from that. I always do cause I am bad.

Stay nerdy, treat each other kindly, and I will catch yall next week. Take care.

Ko Fi Donation Goal for my Move

Leave a comment