The Nerdsletter Issue #81 – The Garvey Edition

Another newsletter needs your attention, let me mark it on your web browser.

GAMING

I have spent a fair amount of time this past week playing Fallout 4 (with Mods) and I really want to talk a bit about Sim Settlements 2, a huge mod that is made up of 3 parts that tell a complete story while also changing how the player interacts with the settlement system.  Let me give you a quick overview, and then I will talk about what annoys me with the mod.

In essence, it gives you “plots” that you can place that act like a Sim City esque system.  You don’t build a house, for example, but place down a Residential Plot which a settler in town claims and builds a house on.

Shit like that.

You can still build normally on top of using the plots, and Sim Settlements 2 also adds a system where you can assign a mayor to the town and let them build up a “city plan”.  It’s really cool!  I make heavy use of the Mayor system and the City Plans to just build settlements up.

Sim Settlements 2 also adds side quests, and a huge multi part story.  The story has been pretty cool, and overall I have enjoyed my time…right up until I got hit with a bug.

What bug?  This bug.  Basically there comes a point in the Sim Settlements storyline (specifically the Part 2 portion) where you have to build an HQ for your team.  This is a really cool idea, but it gets kind of…micromanagy.  Which I personally was using Sim Settlements 2 to avoid.  But the bug that prevents me from actually BUILDING ANYTHING in the HQ hit me, and apparently even as of Oct 2023 that bug has not been solved.  I am not sure why it hit me, what to do about it, or anything but its effectively stopped my progress as far as I can tell because I cannot move the quests forward.  I guess, if I wanted, I could try to console command my way through the quests.  I have had to do that already once when a main quest of SS2 broke on me and wouldn’t progress.  Just force it to complete or something but I don’t know what will happen if I do that frankly.

Oh and one other thing that pissed me off about SS2 outside of that bug, is that when you get to the point in the story where your Settlements can be attacked by Gunners, the attacks happen nearly EVERY FUCKING DAY and it’s just irritating jesus christ.

Anyway, since that bug hit me I went and did some side quests…and then I got bored.  I think I am done with FO4 for now, but I will keep it installed and see how I feel later.  Although I might need to uninstall it just to reclaim space on my HDD.  I had to uninstall MH Rise for that, sadly.

I also started playing Rogue Trader!  Behold, a video!  I have some special words at the end for Owlcat, and I go over my plans for Rogue Trader as well.  While I did live stream that first episode, most likely the future parts will be recorded.  Streaming did not work out very well for me overall.

Finally I decided to try playing Grim Dawn, but with a Hardcore character!  I have never done a hardcore character in Grim Dawn, and it turns out their progression for blueprints, stash, etc is all separate from the Softcare characters so it’s basically like starting fresh.  I am doing a Physical Blitz Warlord based on this video, which is gonna be a pretty tanky defensive character who can zip around.  Its working pretty well so far, although I am still in Normal and just working my way through everything.

FINAL WORD AND SONG OF THE WEEK

I am so tired, and my brain so fried, that a few days ago I was working and blanked out while talking to a customer on what my companies phone number was.  A number I give out multiple times a day, by memory.  Because I have worked here for 9 years and that number has not changed.  That’s where I am right now.

Lord have mercy.

Also the Completionist stuff AND the HBomberguy Plagiarism videos hitting this past week are astonishing.  2023 is gonna end on a bang it seems.  Please let 2024 be less…intense.  Please.

Leave a comment