The Nerdsletter Issue #110 – Aw shit, here we go again

Meme reference goes here. Onwards to glory!

GAMING

If you could not guess from the title, I am playing GTA San Andreas on PC again. I started over and let me explain why. If you don’t remember or have not been following me, nearly a year ago I talked about SA a bunch and ended up in Issue 59 explaining that I had dropped the game due to Flight School, which is a required mission chain in San Andreas. This was due to how the Mouse/Keyboard controls work for flying. Which also applies to the Zero missions but those are optional.

This time, however, I decided to do a bit of research, and found a Mod Pack for San Andreas called “Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas – Definitive Edition” which adds, among other things, a mod for controller support. Now before using this mod pack, I actually tried to run GTA SA via PS2 emulation, but I got weird ass shadows on screen when trying so I said fuck it and found this pack. The controller support is super nice too. Once I plug in my controller, I just press any button and all the prompts and things switch to match my XBox controller perfectly. I cannot rebind the keys (which is just like the PS2 to be honest) but I can freely switch between keyboard / mouse and controller just by touching the mouse or the controller. I am hoping that flight will be easier via Controller to be honest, as GTA SA was originally created to be played on the PS2 and most likely would have been balanced for that. I can tell you that while M/KB is decent, it has always felt a bit off. Like the movement is just too sensitive. I noticed it even when testing to make sure the mods worked, and the game booted. So here we go again. And if the controller works well on flying, well, Zero missions will be back on the table. I can tell you that the brief movement I did driving with the controller felt way smoother than it does when trying to do it M/KB.

And if you wonder why I am going thru all this trouble? Because I am genuinely annoyed that this one roadblock of a mission (Flight School) stymied me. I KNOW I can finish it. I just need to get a good grip on the HOW. And the funniest part is all the shit it wants you to learn? You will never actually really use in normal gameplay. I will not be needing to do Loop de Loops and Barrel Rolls in normal mission play you fucking game. ANYWAY!

In other news, Dawntrail Early Access launches today as this goes up. My wife and I are ready to bust out as Pictomancers and adventure while creating happy little accidents. I also have been playing Echo Generation (I want to beat it before I cover it, it’s only like 6 hours), Dave the Diver (fantastic game, 100% weird and interesting), and I got so many other games to cover. But with the move coming up I really don’t want to stretch myself too thin with covering games.

I am keeping up with the Vampire the Masquerade Night Road series though, and it’s doing really well I am very happy with it. Here is the latest episode.

FINAL WORD OF THE WEEK

The prep continues for the move but beyond that its pretty slow this week.

Stay nerdy everyone.

Ko Fi Donation Goal for my Move

Leave a comment